Breakfast at Tiffany’s (Weekend Series Part 3)

Here we go! Part three of my crazy weekend where I did a Zumbathon, picked out rings, and cried at FedEx.  Jordan and I arrived in Ohio on Saturday night around 7:30 p.m. and were greeted with big hugs from my mom, dad and my mom’s best friend who is also my MC (mistress of ceremonies) and wedding planner! We ate dinner and then sat down to open a few gifts that arrived early.

IMG_1459IMG_1457IMG_1460

One of my favorite gifts of the night was the crystal pitcher and glasses my grandmother sent all the way from the East Coast. They are absolutely beautiful and I can’t wait to use them to entertain guests in our new home. It was also extremely meaningful to get my first pieces of nice settings from my grandmother. I may have teared up a bit. Joyful tears though!

After opening gifts, we relaxed a bit and then it was invitation time! Jordan snuck out of the room and ended up snoozing the night away while my mom, MC and I stayed up until 2 a.m. addressing, stamping and stuffing envelopes. This experience is unlike any other because it is the first and only time in a person’s life where she has others that are willing to help her in any way they can, just out of the goodness of their hearts, with nothing in return. I mean, my mom went to buy stamps at 1 in the morning! (Holding back tears now.)

I went to bed Saturday night with a heart full of love for my friends and family and a BIG checkmark off my to do list because we got all of the invitations done and ready to send out!

IMG_1448

I woke up bright and early Sunday to start getting ready for my bridal shower. My mom has a knack for entertaining and she held nothing back for my Tiffany’s themed shower.

IMG_1456

IMG_1441IMG_1440

Everything was beautiful, right down to the dainty tea sandwiches and delicious Tiffany lemonade my sister created. The shower was themed as an “around the clock” party. Everyone had a certain time written down on their invitation and they were to bring a gift that fit their time. My friend Amy and her mom had a later time of day (5 or 6 p.m. I think) and one of their gifts was  cookie sheets so that I could make a sweet treat for after dinner.

IMG_1454IMG_1446

We played a fun game of “who knows the bride best?” My sister separated the room of women into two groups and held a poster board of 4 categories: Ancient History, High School, College and Lifestyle/Hobbies. The teams got to pick a category and answer the question that went with it. You might recognize the game from this episode of Friends. Some of the questions were answered right away, but some of them were hard!

I had a wonderful time. But, when all of your friends and family are under one roof, showering  you with love and gifts, it’s hard not to feel pure happiness. 🙂 I received some great gifts and it was the perfect way to round out my busy weekend.

Have you been to any themed parties, what were they? 

What’s your favorite game to play at bridal  or baby showers?

2 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s (Weekend Series Part 3)

  1. Your mom is a saint! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen her in action at school offering to go above and beyond for someone. And to say she has a knack for parties is an understatement I think! She’s invited the whole comm dept. over a number of times and everything is always amazing (food, decor, atmosphere, etc.). Your shower looks like it was so much fun with such a classy theme!

    • Sorry, I’m just now replying. I just saw this. You are too sweet Genna and I know, my mom is very talented. I’m hoping I get that “decorating/hosting” gene shows up in me soon. Haha!

Leave a Reply

