Pressing the Reset button

Greetings! I’m back from my bachelorette party in Nashville, TN! The weekend couldn’t have been more perfect. It was full of laughter and lots of unhealthy delicious food.

IMG_1476   IMG_1479

I made the 7 hour car trip with two of my girlfriends from Indiana on Friday. We got lots of honks and even a few hand-written notes were plastered against car windows, wishing congratulations and…other messages. 😉  The rest of the girls met us in Nashville from various locations across the country.

IMG_1481

I was showered with gifts and special attention all weekend. We had such a blast and, if it smelled/tasted good, it was going in my mouth. Usually on vacations, I try to stick with eating clean, and only have one or two “cheat meals.” But this time, I knew that it would be too hard to pass up yummy snacks and other southern comfort foods. It was my last weekend going out with all of my best friends, so I just went for it.

IMG_1505      IMG_1486IMG_1510  IMG_1513 IMG_1514   IMG_1528   IMG_1518    IMG_1551IMG_1529

Whenever I have a pretty bad binge weekend, I try to “reset” and eat extremely clean for a couple days. I feel like it helps flush out all of the toxins and gets me back to normal quicker. For this detox, I stay completely away from salt, processed foods and added sugar. On today’s menu:

Plain oatmeal for breakfast with a banana and flax seed meal mixed in. Plus a green tea for some energy. For lunch, I had a mixed greens salad with a homemade dressing (recipe to come!) and fresh veggies. I also had delicious pesto minestrone soup from a little cafe downtown. All of the vegetables in it were locally grown and the spices used to flavor it were all natural. I will have to try to recreate this one at home.

IMG_1554 IMG_1555

Pesto Minestrone Soup ingredients: 

Basil, homegrown garlic, organic onions, celery, carrots, local zucchini, organic kidney beans and canellini beans, a bit of thyme, oregano, sea salt, cayenne, and olive oil

I’m already starting to feel back to normal. I plan on going for a run tonight and making a sweet potato meal, featuring black beans for protein and more greens.

What do you do to “reset” after a long week/weekend away?

3 thoughts on “Pressing the Reset button

  1. Wow! You are totally back to eating clean! As soon as I got home I was craving some fresh veggies, so I picked some from the garden and ate them! I had a blast this weekend celebrating with you!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Sweetest Dinner | Striding Out

Leave a Reply

