The Sweetest Dinner

It’s Wednesday and I think I am finally feeling a bit back to normal after the Nashville activities this past weekend. I have nixed the morning workouts that I usually do in favor of a few more zzz’s and pumped up my veggies the past couple of days. My voice is still a little scratchy, but I just consider that as a souvenir. 😉

I know that I promised a recipe for tuna cakes yesterday but I honestly was just too tired to chop anything. I ended up making something even better! I have recently started loving on sweet potatoes. They are easy, cheap, portable and have tons of vitamins packed in them.

Screen Shot 2013-08-07 at 9.04.14 AM

(source)

Another great thing about sweet potatoes? They are delicious and can be topped with ANYTHING sweet or savory. If I want something sweet, I put a little nut butter on top, if I want savory, I go for salt and pepper, or black beans or anything I can find. Last night, I went for savory.

IMG_1406

To make the sweet potatoes, I placed them in the microwave for 6 to 7 minutes–until they are soft. For mine, on the left, I placed steamed broccoli and a fried egg inside. Fiance’s has steamed broccoli, bacon and goat cheese. He loved the addition of the bacon and we both thought it was pretty filling. We also had salads on the side to balance out the starch in the meal.

These are my go-to lunch or dinner when I am starving but really don’t want to put in the effort to chop or put together a big dinner. Last night was one of those nights. I had a few wedding-related errands to run after work, and then went to teach a Zumba class. I don’t usually instruct on Tuesday nights, so I loved getting a little extra in this week! My Zumba playlist has been a little boring lately since I haven’t had time to update it. I can always tell when classes are getting used to the songs because they don’t have as much energy.

IMG_0221

Zumbathon–Where it is ALWAYS high energy. My favorite!

I promised my Zumba enthusiasts that I would have new songs for this Thursday’s Zumba so now I actually have to deliver! Usually, I choreograph my own songs because I like to teach high-cardio, high-intensity dances, but I love this song and the dance is super fun! What do you think? I hope my class likes it on Thursday.

What do you do when you are rushed for time and need to make a quick, nutritious dinner? 

4 thoughts on “The Sweetest Dinner

  1. I’m still recovering..I’m in bed as I’m typing this. Haha. Nashville-1 Me-0. My quick and healthy meal is a turkey wrap with veggies! 🙂 that Zumba dance looks amazing I’m sure they will love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

