What I ate (and did) Wednesday

We made it over the hump and the weekend is peaking out over the horizon. Thursday is always one of my favorite days of the week because it holds such great anticipation for the weekend. But, let’s back it up to Wednesday for a “What I ate Wednesday” post. (Thanks for inspiring me Miranda!) Yesterday was a little unique so I added in “What I did Wednesday” to spice it up a bit.

The morning started off with a fried egg and this little concoction I’ve started making.

IMG_1556

It doesn’t look like all that and a bag of chips but it’s actually pretty tasty. It’s simply a piece of toasted rye bread with creamy cashew butter and ripe blueberries on top. I use this organic cashew butter because it has 0 added sugar and the ingredient list is short and sweet. It also tastes amazing so that is rare to find in things without sugar. Thumbs up! ย The blueberries on top sweeten it up a bit and the egg on the side gets some protein in my belly.

I also had some green tea for energy once I got to work. I worked through the morning and my stomach started growling around 11 a.m., so I ate a big banana and thought about my lunch. By lunch time whatever I brought from home just doesn’t sound satisfying anymore. This is the time when I have to just think about fueling my body and just buckle down and eat what I brought. It ended up being delicious.

IMG_1560

In the salad went tomatoes, red onion, green peppers, romaine lettuce, broccoli slaw, one egg white and black beans. I used rice wine vinegar and olive oil for the dressing. All those veggies made it extra filling. On my lunch break, I went to try on my wedding dress!

No way am I showing you guys a picture! Some things just need to be kept a secret, but I did see a possible Mother of the Bride dress. It comes in navy, which is what my mom wants to wear and it would look beautiful on her. What do you think?

IMG_1564

I worked through the rest of the afternoon, stopping for a snack of apples–which make pretty boring pictures by the way–and around 3:00 my sister surprised me by announcing that she was coming to Fort Wayne! I was so excited and immediately scrapped any dinner plans and tried to think of fun things for us to do. My 18-year-old sister, Alex, is heading off to college in Tennessee next week! I can’t believe she is old enough to leave for college already.

I took her to one of my favorite Fort Wayne spots, SkyZone, and we jumped and laughed until we almost peed our pants. ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_1566ย ย IMG_1568IMG_1569

We worked up an appetite while jumping so I treated her to FlatTop Grill–another one of my favorite spots in Fort Wayne. At FlatTop, you create your own stir fry by picking out rice, veggies and meat, then pick your sauce before handing it over to the hibachi chefs to fry up on the grill.

home-composite-top

There are wooden sticks and pencils at each table that have your table number on them. Each customer writes his/her name on the stick and the server calls your name when they bring out your food. Alex dared me to write Primrose Everdeen on my stick. Not one to back down from a dare, I wrote it. When the food came and they called out “Primrose Everdeen” Alex said, “I volunteer as tribute!” They called her name–“Katniss Everdeen,” and the waitress smirked a bit, getting the joke.

If you’ve ย never seen or read Hunger Games–1. Sorry for wasting your time with that story and 2. Do you live under a rock?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

After stuffing ourselves with stir fry we went back to my apartment and gabbed about wedding planning while watching Netflix episodes. It was a great way to end the evening with my sister and MOH. When I hugged her goodbye this morning, I became a little emotional. I won’t see her until the week of my wedding…in October! I’m going to annoy her by FaceTiming at least once a week.

What was the best thing you ate yesterday? ย 

Do you have any siblings that moved far away, what is the best way to keep in contact with them?ย 

8 thoughts on “What I ate (and did) Wednesday

  1. The best thing I ate yesterday was absolutely homemade chocolate chip cookies ๐Ÿ™‚ And it’s so exciting to hear about your dress fitting, I also had my final dress fitting this week and feel like wedding planning is really coming together! Looks like you’re right in the thick of it too, hope you’re enjoying every second of it!

    • YUM! I have a huge sweet tooth and cookies sound amazing right now. Isn’t it crazy to have a dress that finally fits?? I wanted to wear it around for the rest of the day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • That is too funny because I seriously did NOT want to get out of my dress. . . I was running late and totally stressed out before, but once I slipped on the dress nothing mattered and I completely forgot I had anywhere else to be ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m the sibling who moved away! Haha. But I’m so excited to see 4 of my sibs this weekend when I got to Minnesota. I’ve been to Flat Top Grill once when I lived in the Midwest. Loved it!!

  3. That looks like a blast farm! So nice of her to come up before she leaves for college! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have you ever been to Blue Pacific Grill at Levis Commons? It’s like the same as that place you took her! So good!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Snack Attack and a College Bound MOH | Striding Out

Leave a Reply

