What you should eat Pre and Post Workout

I have a confession to make..

IMG_1614

When I get stressed out I gotta have a Coke. It doesn’t happen very often, but I succumb to the vending machine at work every once in a while. Today  was one of those days I found myself scrounging for loose change. I know that diet sodas contain a lot of scary things that are hard to pronounce and even harder to spell, but if it only happens every once in a while it’s okay. That’s my justification and I’m sticking to it.

Whew! That’s off my chest, let’s talk about pre and post workout fueling. This is something that I just started paying attention to since I became a little  more well rounded in my fitness regime. I used to be a cardio junkie that would only run and do Zumba. Since I’ve started researching fitness, I’ve learned that cardio burns the fat, but strength training is what is seen under the fat. A lot of females believe strength training will make them bulky, when in reality, it does the opposite. If done the correct way, lifting weights will help you get lean muscles and amazing definition. I actually dropped a pants size when I started strength training!

I’ve also learned that I don’t get a great workout or great results when I don’t eat properly. Think of your body like a corvette. I don’t know much about cars, but even I know that if you put crappy fuel in a nice car, it isn’t going to run properly and it won’t run for very long. You should be fueling PRE and POST workout to maintain fitness goals and a healthy lifestyle.

Pre-workout fuel is important to keep your engine running and post workout fuel is imperative in repairing your fatigued muscles. My pre-workout snacks usually involve a simple carbohydrate that gets my energy up without weighing me down.

Pre Workout Fuel:

Piece of toast with nut butter (sometimes fruit on top) IMG_1556

Apple or banana 

1/2 sweet potato (plain)

1/4 cup of oats (plain or w/fruit on top)

I try to eat at least a 1/2 hour before my workout and I don’t add any sauce/seasoning to anything I’m eating so that it can digest quickly and easily. Post workout snacks should be consumed within a half hour of your workout and should include protein and carbohydrates.

Post Workout Fuel:

Protein shake with chocolate UMP protein powder IMG_1594

Tuna on toast

Banana with nut butter 

Greek yogurt with berries

Turkey slices with a little cheese

Here are some other sources on the subject:

What do you all eat before and after you work out? 

If you don’t eat anything, WHY? Are you going to now? 🙂 

7 thoughts on “What you should eat Pre and Post Workout

  1. I usually never eat beforehand–just black coffee. I workout before 6 am, so I can’t bring myself to eat anything that early (even though I know I should). After I always have eggs scrambled up with veggies!

  2. Oh my gosh I was just talking about how I literally think about Diet Coke for the last 3 of 4 miles of every long run. I have no idea why, and people have told me I’m weird for it, but I’m glad I’m not alone. I try not to give into the temptation everytime, but I don’t have much will power after a long run!

Leave a Reply

